wxWidgets-2.8.3 for wxArt2D on MSW

April 7, 2007 at 2:52 am 5 comments

Hello,

This time I would like to share the steps by steps needed to compile wxWidgets for use with wxArt2D. the idea is to begin from the very basics just as If you have installed your computer right now.

Requeriments:

  • wxWidgets-2.8.3 sources
  • wxArt2D sources
  • Cmake

Well, here we can have two ways, you can use a installation based on Visual C++ or using gcc with MinGW. First we will explore the VC++ method, have in mind I’m using VC++ 6

Visual C++ 6

First thing to download the exe installation of wxWidgets. then open VC++ and open the Workspace in the %WXWIN%\build\msw\wx.dsw

Because this workspace has configured a lot of targets, at least I didn’t need all that so I just compiles the debug target, this can be done in the build menu, then batch build, and select the ones you want, for my case I selected the debug versions for all the projects.

That will take some time.

Now lets probed the intallation opening the minimal.dsw in the samples\minimal directory and try to compile it. Everything should work ok.

The following thing to compile is the wxSTC component. For that open the file stc.dsw in the contrib\build\stc and do the same thing as above.

Let’s now compile wxArt2D, so the first step is to do the download. Then set the WXWIN variable to the wxWidgets installation path.

Open Cmake and create a directory outside the wxArt2D sources directory. Then do the configure with cmake. What this do is to generate the wxart2d.dsw file in the directory. Then open this a compile using VC++.

In the samples directory you will find the samples compiled so you can probed it.

MinGW

First thing you shoul do is to install the MinGW and MSYS packages. So then create a directory in the wxWidgets path and run the following commands from the msys command line:

cd %WXDIR%
mkdir buildmswd
cd buildmsw

../configure –with-msw –disable-std_iostreams –enable-debug –disable-shared
make
ldconfig

Probed the compiltation:

cd %WXDIR%
cd buildmswd/samples/minimal
make
./minimal

Now because wxArt2D needs the wxSTC class, go to the contrib directory and compile it.

Well the next step is to set the WXWIN environment variable, for this use:

SET WXWIN=%WXWIN%/buildmswd

Now run the cmake like this, first create and directory outside the wxArt2D sources:

mkdir wxart2dmingw
cd wxart2dmingw
cmake -G "Unix Makefiles" %WXART2D%
make

Run a sample, to probed the compilating. I think that’s all, maybe you get any error, so write here to see how can I help you.

Entry filed under: wxWidgets.

Mechatronics Open Source Software English site freeze

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. manu  |  April 12, 2007 at 6:46 pm

    Hi!

    In your post you said that you have compiled wxArt2D + wxWidgets2.8.3 + gcc with MinGW in windows successfully, but you don’t explain how you did it. Can you explain it, please? I’m so interested in use wxArt2D with the latest version of wxWidgets.

    Thank you very much!

    Regards!

    Reply
  • 2. yesidh  |  April 12, 2007 at 7:24 pm

    Yes, I forgot to add those comments because I noticed in the final phase they fail.

    I did compile wxWidgets using the makefile.gcc in the build/msw directory, have in mind that to do this you should have installed MinGW but not MSYS. That worked ok, and I got the gcc_mswd in the lib dir. When I tried to configure the wxArt2D with cmake I got a problem with the wxWidgets that is not found. I did compile this good once, but now it is not working.

    We should look for a help in the wxArt2D mailing list.

    Reply
  • 3. yesidh  |  April 12, 2007 at 11:24 pm

    OK, I update the article to add how can I get wxArt2D with MinGW.

    Reply
  • 4. bluedee  |  January 9, 2008 at 12:18 pm

    hello,

    it’s nice to see your tutorial. I have followed your mingw/msys tutorial and I got stuck in “ldconfig”, I got “command not found” in my msys shell.

    How do you get this command? I have been searched in google or mingw sourceforge and I didn’t get any.

    thanks

    Reply
  • 5. Doru  |  April 5, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    Hi,
    Yes indeed you have very intersting stuff. I am also maintaining a wxWidgets tutorial and soon I will publish a start to end showcase of how to build a non-trivial application with this good library.
    http://java-hobby.blogspot.com
    Cheers,
    Doru

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


